Governor Phil Murphy

Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Snapchat

FEMA Approves Governor Murphy’s Request for Major Disaster Declaration Following March Nor’Easter


TRENTON - Governor Phil Murphy’s request for a Major Disaster Declaration for the March 6 to March 7, 2018 winter storm was approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The Declaration helps alleviate the financial burden created by the storm by making millions in local disaster response expenditures in Bergen, Essex, Morris, Passaic and Somerset counties eligible for federal reimbursement. The Declaration also provides funding for statewide hazard mitigation projects to help protect against future disasters.

“Alleviating the suffering and damage which resulted from the dangerous weather conditions during the March nor’easter is a crucial step towards recovery,” said Governor Phil Murphy. “I thank the federal government for approving this request to ensure New Jersey receives the assistance it needs to fully recover from the storm.”

“Although summer is less than two weeks away, there are parts of our State still recovering from the disastrous effects of the winter storm from three months ago,” said Colonel Patrick Callahan of the New Jersey State Police. “The New Jersey Office of Emergency Management will continue to coordinate the recovery effort with our local, county and federal partners in the affected counties.”

Governor Murphy formally requested a Major Disaster Declaration as a result of the severe winter storm that struck New Jersey from March 6, 2018 to March 7, 2018, to assist the counties of Bergen, Essex, Morris, Passaic and Somerset. The storm dropped 27 inches of snow throughout the state, causing nearly $20 million in damages and resulting in over 342,000 power outages.

The bipartisan New Jersey Congressional delegation supporting the Major Disaster Declaration –including Sen. Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), Sen. Cory Booker (D-N.J.), and Reps. Donald Norcross (D-N.J.-01), Frank LoBiondo (R-N.J.-02), Tom MacArthur (R-N.J.-03), Chris Smith (R-N.J.-04), Josh Gottheimer (D-N.J.-05), Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-N.J.-06), Leonard Lance (R-N.J.-07), Albio Sires (D-N.J.-08), Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-N.J.-09), Donald Payne, Jr. (D-N.J.-10), Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-N.J.-11) and Bonnie Watson-Coleman (D-N.J.-12) – urged the Trump administration to approve the request.