Governor Phil Murphy

Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Snapchat

Governor Murphy Urges Passage of $15 Minimum Wage Before End of Year


TRENTON – Acting on a commitment to build a stronger and fairer New Jersey, Governor Phil Murphy today urged the Legislature to close the wage gap and pass a bill raising the minimum wage to $15 per hour for all working New Jerseyans before the end of the year.

“Establishing a livable wage of $15 per hour provides New Jersey’s working families with the opportunity to put food on their tables and keep the lights on in their homes,” said Governor Phil Murphy. “Raising the minimum wage is a crucial piece in building the foundation for a robust and fair economy. We have talked about this issue and the benefits it will bring to New Jerseyans long enough. The time for the Legislature to act is now.”

Increasing the minimum wage to $15 will empower working families, which in turn will boost productivity and grow New Jersey’s economy.